Richard T. Greener Scholarship

Since 1983, the Black Alumni Council has actively worked to attract bright students to the university by providing scholarships to graduating high school seniors who have excelled academically. Richard Theodore Greener, the man for whom the scholarship is named, became the first African-American to graduate from Harvard University in 1870 and was the first African-American faculty member at South Carolina in 1873.

We invite you to support our scholarship project. Consider both your time on campus, as well as the incredible impact we as alumni are having on today’s students, our region and our nation. This scholarship, funded for students, by alumni and friends, will serve for decades to come as a shining example of the momentum of our Black Alumni Council. If you would like to make a donation securely online, we have a page set up for you to do so conveniently.

If you have questions, please reach out to

Our Generous Donors

Forever to Thee

Bryon James 
Federal Home Loan Bank of Atlanta & Robert Dozier
Justin T. Williams 
Phyllis Perkins 
Sylvester Nabritt Sr. 


Hattie Greene 
Jotaka Eaddy
Kelvin Goodwin 
Sonya Bookard 
Torsha Hicks 
Vanessa R. Hill
Vanessa D. Scott 


American Endowment Foundation 
Andrew Sorensen
Charles Tucker 
Donna Orensen
Ester Zinnerman 
Grover Smith Jr. 
Jerome Boykins
Lisa Wilcox
Paul Ross
Robert Wilcox
Stephen Benjamin 
Tammy Kelly
Tracey Watkins
Wilma Dozier 
United Technologies Corporation 
USC Black Alumni Reunion, Inc. 


Alphonso Wofford 
Amber Guyton 
Darryl Lincoln 
Dennis Brandon
Edwina Roseboro-Barnes 
Gina Howard 
Harrietta Wilson 
Harris Pastides
Harry Wright
Helen Doerpinghaus
Heyward Bannister
Iris Hubbard 
James Friday
Jermaine Britton
Jerry Thurman
Johnathan Kirkwood
Jonathan Peara
Linda Paige
Marcia Synnott
Maris Deschamps Cannon
Melvin Goodson
Nakeeah Garland
Patricia Moore-Pastides
Peggy Crowell
Tjuan Dogan
Wendi Nance


Aiysha Holliday
Alvin Harvey
Ajerenal Danley
Andrea Dantzler
Angela Brown
Antonio Elliott 
Ashlee Roberts
Bernard Josey
Bessie Baker 
Black Alumni Council
Brenda Cummings 
Brenda Jackson 
Bridget Leslie
Calvin Elam
Catherine Jordan
Cassandra Fitzpatrick
Cheryl Mallory
Cindy McIntee 
Cynthia Arrington-Thomas 
Dorothy Aranda
Ecumenical Church of Christ 
Ernest Finney
Frank Nichols
Frances Holman
First Union Foundation
Gerald McClellan 
George Holmes 
Gwendolyn Brown  
Ginette Hamilton 
Ecumenical Church of Christ – On behalf of Redfern II 
Etta Harrison
James Harrison
James P. Hudson
Jasper Cureton
Jessica Allison
John Hart
Judy Battiste
Jonathan Kirkwood
Kenneth Peake 
Larry Colleton
Linda Ross
Linda Scott
Michael Richey
Myrielle Smith
Myron Terry
Norris Mitchell 
Ralph Hardy
Reba Houghmartin 
Reginald Murphy
Robert L. Caslen Jr. 
Scott Moise 
Shonta Robinson
Stephen Singleton
Tabatha McAllister
Tammy Hart
Tammy Kelly
Ted Hart
Theresa Muldrow
Valinda Dickerson
Vanessa Maybank
Vinetta Wittt
Warren Harley


Carlos Cato
Tony DesChamps
Ginetta Hamilton
Aiysha Anderson Holliday
Zandra and Naitro Jeffery-McFadden and Taylor
William Frederick
Eureka Robertson
Kenneth R. Scarborough
Arlecia Simmons
Nakia Strickland
Charles White
Brent Whitesides
Megahn Hickman
Wes Hickman